JACKSONVILLE FL BASED PHOTOGRAPHER

Photography SHOULD Bring Us Together….. PART 1

 

Just a few days ago this thought can across my mind as I was talking to another photographer on my way to put up some ink for my printers.   We had not seen each other in over 2 years.   The last words we had was when he had an accident and had injured his back.  Within minutes we were talking as if we did not have that long of a break in our relationship.   One of the subjects we discussed was how we seem to always talk so much longer than planned when on the subject of Photography.   Photography is the glue that bonds us together; freely sharing ideas and concepts without fear of “giving away secrets”.   

I must say that I have been part of many organizations or group of people, but for some reason photographers tend to think “I must keep my secrets about photography to myself, or someone will be better than me!”     Esprit de corps – A common spirit of comradeship, enthusiasm, and devotion to a cause among the members of a group.     

I so agree with the Professional Photographers of America Code of Ethics (PPA Code of Ethics http://www.ppa.com/about/code_of_ethics.php )

 I, as a requirement for admission to and retention of membership and participation in Professional Photographers of America, Inc., agree to strive at all times to upgrade and improve my knowledge and skill of professional photography, marketing and related areas. In all my dealings with users of photography and the general public, I will:

1.    Strive to present all photographic services in surroundings and in a manner which reflects the highest levels of professionalism.

2.    Use the highest levels of honesty, professionalism and integrity.

3.    Not use any marketing or competitive practice which violates any Federal Trade Commission, or other Federal or State regulatory agency rule or regulation, or Federal or State statute or any decision of any Federal or State Court; and

4.    In all dealing with fellow professional photographers, students and others who aspire to be professional photographers, I shall share the knowledge and skill of professional photography.

5.    Support efforts for and assist in the education of all interested persons the general public in the art and science of professional photography.

  All points are of equal importance, but 4 and 5 are the ones most photographers do not understand… we should:

1)       SHARE THE KNOWLEDGE AND SKILL OF PROFESSIONAL PHOTOGRAPHY

2)       Educate all who are interested in the ART AND SCIENCE OF PROFESSIONAL PHOTOGRAPHY

I recently celebrated my 52nd birthday and a Pastor friend of mine scheduled breakfast with me.  While in conversation with Albert he made a statement to me “You know whatever you are involved in you were born to teach”… so true.

 

My goal is go to the grave having done all I can to help train, teach and develop those I come in contact with.   Knowledge is given not for you to keep it to yourself, but to give it to someone else.    Let it be said about you when you are no longer on the face of the earth…because of Him or Her I am better, they taught me something… he or she helped me.

Just today I had a fellow photographer express concern about a photo posted online, they said “that looks just like your style”… it was a very nice sexy boudoir image and she was right it was done in the style I would have presented.  

My reply was this… “We are very close friends and this shot is a common theme for this type of capture…. He did a great job”…

They replied… “Yes, indeed… he did a great job!!!!!!!!…. Interesting, you do not mind others (even friends) shooting and editing just like you do?

My reply…” We should inspire others in a healthy relationship… he has helped me in many ways as well with great knowledge about lighting….”

They replied “Oh… now I understand…. learning from each other… the styles will progress and will eventually be different. Thank you for the clarification.”

I may be wrong but I think I can share my workflow, technique, etc.. and you will never see what I see in my mind’s eye, that is what makes us different and my style Is part of who I am, what I have experienced, the places I have been… it is the core of my soul.   And just like a finger print it is what makes me different from everyone else.

Photography should bring us TOGETHER!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

